Brick Oven Bread? Homemade Hummus? YES Please!

I must admit, I’m new to the world of Middle Eastern/Mediterranean cuisine. Being that it was heading towards the last days of Restaurant Week, I wanted to venture into something new. When looking at the price fixe menu, theirs immediately caught my eye. With such a diverse assortment of foods, I was all in.

My friend and I kinda made last-minute plans to dine, so the only reservations we could get were at the bar. I usually don’t like eating at the bar since it tends to be very crowded and I had no idea how big or small the inside of Taboon was going to be. When I stepped inside I was pleased to find it was not only spacious but beautifully decorated. Low lighting, clean accents and a rustic feeling. And that oven! You could just smell the aroma of fire-roasted foods waiting to be eaten. As for our seating arrangements– probably the best dining experience I’ve ever had at the bar. Our bartender was on point. He was attentive, friendly, talkative, and just an all around awesome guy. (And might I add good-looking too.)

Now onto the food:
Bread-Taboon-Their signature, known-for flatbread cooked in the taboon oven was ridiculously delicious. One bite and you’ll be transported to your food happy place. It was well seasoned, crispy and buttery. As well as it came with a trio of dips–homemade hummus, tzaziki and baba ghanoush. They were all silky, earthy and creamy.

-(Appetizer) Creamy Yukon Potato and Asparagus Soup: Very creamy & savory and just hit the spot with all this cold weather happening lately.
Chicken Taboon-Taboon
-(Entree) Chicken Taboon: Organic free-rang chicken breast with cured lemon, Israeli couscous, broccoli rabe, pearl onion confit and all topped with a panzanella salad. This dish was very refreshing, light and refined. The chicken was tender, juicy as well as flavorful. All around it was a great dish.

Silan-Taboon

-(Dessert) Silan*: I saw so many outstanding comments about this dish and had to try it. Decadent vanilla ice cream with puffed rice cereal, date honey, caramelized pistachios and shredded halva. I have no idea how this was thought up but thank you to whoever did.

_______________________________________
*Alright. Let’s just say I was in a beauty pageant, and they asked me what would make the world a better place. You’d think world peace right?? NOPE. SILAN. Silan is what should make the world go round.

773 10th Ave
New York
New York, NY 10019
b/t 53rd St & 52nd St in Hell’s Kitchen, Midtown West
(212) 713-0271
taboononline.com

2 thoughts on “Brick Oven Bread? Homemade Hummus? YES Please!

Leave a Reply

